Curriculum Overview

Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2

Children in Classes One to Six all follow the 2014 National Curriculum.   This encompasses English, mathematics, art & design, computing, design & technology, music, geography, history and PE. It also includes languages in Key Stage 2. The following table shows the Key Assessment Criteria for the end of every year group.

Year 1 Key Assessment Criteria Year 2 Key Assessment Criteria Year 3 Key Assessment Criteria
Year 4 Key Assessment Criteria Year 5 Key Assessment Criteria Year 6 Key Assessment Criteria


Subject Overviews

The Way, the Truth & the Life
 Reading/Writing PHSE/RHE Maths
Music P.E. MFL
History Geography Science
Design and Technology Art and Design Computing


Foundation Stage 2 (FS2)

Our youngest children continue to follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS).  This curriculum allows children to learn through play alongside structured teaching sessions.  All subject leaders across the school work with our EYFS team to ensure our curriculum prepares our children for the next stage in their learning.

The seven areas of the EYFS are:

  • Communication & Language
  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy 
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design


Life Long Learning

We strongly believe in giving children the skills to become proficient learners with a 'can-do' positive attitude towards learning.  We do this through our Building Learning Powers and Growth Mindset.


Files to Download

Following in the footsteps of Jesus, we learn, love and laugh together

Get in Touch:

St Luke's Catholic Primary School

The Willows, Frodsham, Cheshire, WA6 7QP

Miss Eileen Murtagh

Tel: 01244 259999


St Luke's Catholic Primary School

The Willows, Frodsham, Cheshire, WA6 7QP

Student Login